• On CBS MoneyWatch: Report: DON'T Buy the iPhone 4
advertisement
Click Here
May 19, 2009 9:38 AM PDT

MobileMe phishing e-mail circulating

by CNET staff
Several users are reporting an odd e-mail circulating among MobileMe subscribers. The e-mail appears to be the work of a phishing scam designed to have users enter their credit card information on a false Web site.

Apple Support Discussions user "ProfAlan" reports:

"WARNING: I just received a phishing email telling me my account was about to expire. The e-mail address was thsi.Mac . Thought everyone would like to know."
We here at MacFixIt have not received this e-mail, though reports across the Internet have been consistent. 

While Apple does send its MobileMe subscribers e-mails regarding their account's impending expiration, the only place you should ever enter your credit card information is via the online account settings page. If you receive this e-mail, promptly delete it. You can check your account status by logging in to your account at me.com or by navigating to System Preferences > MobileMe > Account and clicking on "Account Details."

You may remember a similar phishing scam, widely reported, in February.

Resources
Read this Apple Support Discussions thread about the MobileMe phishing e-mail scam.

Experiencing problems? Have feedback? Let us know!

Resources

  • me.com
  • a similar phishing scam
  • Apple Support Discussions ...
  • Let us know!
  • More from Late-Breakers
  • Recent posts from MacFixIt
    iTunes 10 user interface sees some minor changes
    Apple seeds iOS 4.1 Gold Master to developers
    Possible fix for Harman Kardon iSub problems with PowerPC Macs
    Precautions to take before installing iTunes 10
    A reminder on how to reset your Mac's system password
    Mail messages appearing blank
    Adobe Lightroom update brings direct Facebook publishing; Camera Raw 6.2 released
    Weekly troubleshooting utilities update
    Add a Comment (Log in or register)
    by Rick Auricchio May 19, 2009 10:14 AM PDT
    Hint: If the message does not come to your mobileme/mac account, you know it's bogus.

    But in general it's no different from every other phishing attempt...use common sense.
    Reply to this comment
    by klausf May 19, 2009 10:26 AM PDT
    Poor knee-jerk recommendation.

    Instead you should display full headers, redirect it to spam@mac.com, and then delete it. Let Apple know about it so they can act on it.
    Reply to this comment