Version: 2008
  • On MovieTome: The 10 worst movies of 2009 so far!
advertisement

Canon PowerShot SD850 IS

2 of 90

Full user review

  • 55 out of 58 people found this review helpful

    3.5 stars

    "Be careful with online order from BROADWAY PHOTO"

    by ttra on July 15, 2007

    Pros: true image with all functions from previous model, 4X optical zoom

    Cons: Broadway Photo misadvertised the product for money

    Summary: We bought it at BROADWAY PHOTO, it is www.bwayphoto.com. They advertised as Brand New come with 1-year manufacture warranty. We received not a SD850, but a SD810 (comparable camera). The SD180 is not intended to sell in USA, and therefore no Warranty paper from manufacture. Manual received in the box also not original, but a copy from SD850. Later on, we figured that there is no "Image stablizer" found in camera. In conclusion, don't buy from BROADWAY PHOTO or other not certified stores.

    Was this review helpful? YES | NO

    Reply to this review

  • 17 replies to this review
  • reply by: islandgyal on December 31, 2008

    I wished I had read this before purchasing anything from TechnoDigita.coml/J & J Digital/The Whiz Camera, Inc from Brooklyn, NY. They did the hard-sell, and stupid me fell for the BS. They over-charged me by $90. I am going to send a complaint to the BBB, so that others don't fall victim. Do NOT call them to confirm, as they will talk you into over-priced additions.

  • reply by: brwneyegrl46 on October 1, 2008

    My husband and I were in the market for a camcorder and tried to order it from them when we found that they had the lowest price around. They tried to sell us a camcorder that was made for foreign markets instead of the US, so it probably wouldn't have been compatible with our equipment. We found this out after questioning them about the product, and we didn't order it from them. Avoid this scam retailer!

  • reply by: newnanscottjill on September 11, 2008

    I want to thank the reviewer who noted their experience with Broadway Photo...I found a great price on this camera for $159 at Techondigital.com...when it sounds too good to be true it usually is. The website mentions how they are a 5-Star Certified Merchant - Shop with Confidence, etc. I went to Better Business Bureau for on-line business at bbb.org/online and by just typing in the requested information it showed the parent company and the names of companies DBA the parent company. It listed that Techon Digital or techondigital.com had a bad review and why...all the same reasons as the reviewer of Broadway Photo mentioned. So thank you for posting your experience, you saved me from making a terrible mistake...Buyer beware. Check the Better Business Bureau before purchasing from an unknown merchant.

  • reply by: meeshy26 on August 28, 2008

    I wish I read this before I bought from broadway photo. I will never buy from them again. They have hidden charges while they say "free shipping" you end up paying for it and more in their handling and insurance fees.

  • reply by: pcfish on August 8, 2008

    I heard so many horrible stories about those Brooklyn camera shops. Check this out,
    http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/

  • reply by: pkirk646 on May 12, 2008

    So true about Broadway Photo. They advertise the product online then you have to call them after you buy it and they tell you that you will need more batteries, or more accessories, or a different lens. Do NOT buy from them----big time scammers---always trying to make more money on cameras that are discounted.

  • reply by: bri0831 on November 29, 2007

    The bottom line is that they indeed sell "grey market" items. A.K.A. Japan-only, etc. models. My coworker ordered an Olympus digicam and he got what he ordered, however on initial power on all menus were in Japanese. Then the bastards wouldn't refund him. So Visa to the rescue on that one... I would never buy there.

  • reply by: sgulamov on November 13, 2007

    Thank you very much for warning...

  • reply by: nocutsiename on October 24, 2007

    Is this a rating on the supplier or on the camera? As for the camera your rating seems worthless.

  • reply by: duats15 on October 1, 2007

    Succumbed to the high pressure and purchased additional "long lasting" battery during their obligatory phone call after placing an online order. I was assured it was a manufacture battery and not an off market brand. Upon receipt, neither was true. Called and said I was shipping everything back and would file a complaint with authorities in my state and NY. They said keep the battery and credited my account. Way too much aggravation.

  • reply by: howdyisneill on September 19, 2007

    Ditto on Broadway Photo. High pressure all the way. What do you expect being in NYC. I cancelled my order when they said I had to call them to verify my order. All they wanted was to sell me things I didn't order.

  • reply by: cwongwh on September 4, 2007

    When you Order Online, make sure the source is a reputable one. I order from Dell all the time !

    They are having a promotion for September 2007; A 70% discount at http://tinyurl.com/32yfoy
    ==> Just enter this Coupon code before submitting a purchase : VR4X188HB0DJL3

  • reply by: carlymac on August 30, 2007

    For sure! Was almost taken by them today. My $300 camera order became $378 at check-out. That was after I refused to buy a $99 battery that lasts two hours vs. the 20 min. battery she said came with the camera. I canceled the order immediately. Had like experience at Digitalnerds.com. He refused to sell me the same camera since I wouldn't do the "battery upgrade". He told me I was rude and he would not sell me the camera. I told him I was going to notify Amazon as well as others of his scam. He said would do me no good as they owned Amazon! Amazing and shameful!!

  • reply by: cae12108 on August 21, 2007

    hey, i was thinking of buying this camera from broadway photo but was having trouble deciding until i read your feedback. now i can decide not to buy this camera from them. thanks!

  • reply by: maddie_77 on August 16, 2007

    I ordered the canon sd700 from BROADWAY PHOTO also and i received the IXY 800is with the same issues no warranty!

  • reply by: boliver1026 on August 5, 2007

    I just joined this site tonight and already it has benefited me. Thank you for sharing your opinion....there are very many bad reports about this company that I just saw on another site. thanks again

  • reply by: rmskumar on July 26, 2007

    I did see that the price on this site quoted was 269 + taxes for the SD850. I was almost on the verge of pushing the "PLACE ORDER" button along with my wife. When fortunately we both thought lets read the terms and conditions... (there they are saying.. for some items from CANON it could be that you may get a imported product not sold in the US. that is when we stepped back and finally ordered our camera in AMAZON.COM..

    Actually saying as a consumer we hardly go into the details of Terms and conditions... as we do not foresee such things but whenever buying on the net please go through them.. Your 10-15 mts would save lot of mental peace.

Write review Back to product review See all 90 reviews

Where to buy

Canon PowerShot SD850 IS: $628.50
storepricein stock?rating
Amazon.com Marketplace
$628.50 Yes 5.0 star rating

see prices from 1 store

Submit your review

Log in or create an account to submit your review for:

Canon PowerShot SD850 IS

ORLog in with your Facebook account
1. Rate this product:
(Mouse over the stars to rate this product and click to set your rating.)
2. One-line summary:(Summarize your review in one line. 10 characters minimum; required.)
0 of 55 characters
3. Pros:(Tell us what you like about this product. 10 characters minimum; required.)
0 of 250 characters
4. Cons:(Tell us what you don't like about this product. 10 characters minimum; required.)
0 of 250 characters
Bottom-line summary:(Explain to us in detail why you like or dislike the product, focusing your comments on the product's features and functionality, and your experience using the product. This field is optional.)
0 of 5000 characters

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks are prohibited.
Click here to review our site terms of use.

Submit

Compare prices for Canon PowerShot SD850 IS

Price: $628.50
Amazon.com Marketplace $628.50
advertisement

Special sponsor stores

advertisement

Compare this digital camera to: